Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee

Our Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee fulfil Council’s governance and oversight responsibilities as mandated by the Office of Local Government including:

  • Financial reporting
  • Internal control structure
  • Risk management systems
  • Legislative compliance
  • Ethical accountability
  • Internal and external audit functions

Committee membership consists of two (2) Councillors and three (3) appointed members of the community with business and/or governance experience.

Committee members

Peter McLean (Chairperson)

  • Appointed for the period of February 2017 to December 2020
  • The term on the ARIC was further extended to December 2024 by Council

Peter is a not-for-profit specialist having led five (5) Australian Charities in four (4) sectors, currently CEO at Bicycle NSW, he previously worked in State and Local Government. 

Leading charities he has successfully strengthened organisation profiles, community engagement, financial sustainability, social impact and capabilities to reach more people with better services and experiences.

He holds a degree in Environmental Management, a Masters in Business Administration (sub-majoring in Business Law and Public Relations) and Certificates in Bush Regeneration and Business Governance. 

Peter is passionate about assisting organisations to better support the communities they serve. He has experience on five (5) Council Audit, Risk and Improvement Committees and worked with councils on many issues in his not-for-profit roles.

Donna Rygate

  • Appointed for the period of January 2019 to December 2022
  • The term on the ARIC has been further extended to December 2026

Donna is an experienced Chief Executive, independent director, business leader and skilled problem solver with a solid track record of positive transformation of organisations.

She holds various board and committee roles and runs a farming and grazing property in Central Western NSW.

From 2014 to 2018 Donna was Chief Executive of Local Government NSW, the peak industry association representing the interests all NSW general purpose councils and related organisations.

She was previously Chief Executive of the NSW Office of Communities (the umbrella organisation for a range of functions including Sport & Recreation, Venues NSW, Sydney Olympic Park Authority, Penrith Lakes, Youth, Veterans' Affairs, Volunteering, the Commission for Children & Young People, the Children's Guardian and Aboriginal Affairs). 

Donna also headed Corporate Governance and Policy in the then NSW Department of Planning & Infrastructure. Before that, she was the Deputy Director General Strategy, Communication and Governance with the former NSW Department of Community Services. 

Her broad experience has also included roles in central agencies, transport and environment protection. Donna worked in policy, communications, governance and operational roles in the NSW public sector for over 25 years.

Donna has an Economics degree with Honours in Government and Public Administration, and a Masters degree in Planning. She is currently enrolled in the Juris Doctor program at Macquarie University.

Donna was made a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration in 2012.

John Gordon

  • Appointed for the period May 2020 to April 2024

John is an assurance, risk and corporate governance specialist. In his 30 year plus career, he's had 22 years as an Audit/Assurance Partner with PwC (PricewaterhouseCoopers) and predecessor firms. His clients covered a broad range of organisations including listed public companies across most industry sectors, Public Sector clients including Federal, State and Local Government.

John served in the roles of Hunter Region Managing Partner, NSW Local Government Leader, National Staff Partner, and National Risk Management Partner for the Resources, Services & Government Division of PwC.

John's work, since 2009, is in governance and risk. He has served with Audit & Risk Committees for over 20 ACT, NSW State and NSW Local Government agencies as well as not-for-profit organisations. He is a Board Member for South Western Sydney Local Health District, chairs the Finance, Performance & Assets Committee, is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee and the Research & Teaching Committee. John is chair or member for 13 Audit & Risk Committees, including nine (9) in NSW Local Government.

Councillor Matthew Norris

  • Councillor Norris was elected in 2021 as a representative of Ward 1

He was appointed as an alternate member of the Committee in 2022.

Councillor Evan Christen

  • Councillor Christen was elected in 2021 as a representative of Ward 2

He was appointed as a member of the Committee in 2022.

Councillor Patricia White

  • Councillor White was elected in September 2016 as a representative of Ward 3

She was appointed as an alternate member of the Committee on 04 October 2016 and appointed a member in September 2017.

Councillor - Gillian Boyd

  • Councillor Boyd was elected in July 2023 as a representative of Ward 3.

She was appointed as a member of the Committee in September 2023.

Committee charter

The objective of the Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee is:

  • To provide independent assurance and assistance to the Shoalhaven City Council on risk management, control, governance and external accountability responsibilities

Get more details:

Internal audit

View the roles and responsibilities of Council’s internal audit staff: