Official Illawarra Webpage Launched > Shoalhaven City Council

Shoalhaven City Council Media Releases

Current Articles Archives

Official Illawarra Webpage Launched

Minister for the Illawarra John Ajaka today joined the Member for South Coast, the Hon Shelley Hancock, the Member for Kiama, Gareth Ward, the Member for Heathcote, Lee Evans, Upper House member Paul Green and the Mayor of the Shoalhaven Jo Gash to launch the official NSW Government Illawarra webpage.

Mr Ajaka said the Illawarra webpage provides information about what the Government is doing in the region, key facts for potential investors and must do activities for tourists. It is one of 15 regional pages being launched today on

“The latest news, government consultations and key initiatives will be available as well as links to contact information for NSW Government Ministers, agencies and me as Minister for the Illawarra” he said.

Mrs Hancock said the launch of the NSW Government’s Illawarra webpage in Nowra today shows the importance the Government places on the Shoalhaven within the Illawarra region.


She said the webpage contains links to other NSW Government websites, making it easier for the visitor to obtain information on various Government services, infrastructure upgrades, plans and initiatives.

“The NSW Government Illawarra webpage is a fantastic tool that will assist in promoting the Shoalhaven region and growing local industries,” Mrs Hancock said.

Mr Ward said this is great news because now there is a one-stop-shop for information on the region.   

“It includes links to major tourist attractions in the area including the Kiama Blowhole and the Grand Pacific Drive,” Mr Ward said.

Mr Evans said the webpage also provides details on the region’s key industries, including manufacturing, health, aged care, defence and tourism.

Mr Green thanked the Minister and the Government for listening and defining Shoalhaven as part of the Illawarra. This will help build on our symbiotic initiatives within the Illawarra and the community will now be able to quickly find these initiatives on this website.

Mr Ajaka said that the Government has drawn a line in the sand about the definition of the Illawarra. The Illawarra region is defined as the four Local Government Areas of Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Kiama and Wollongong.


Ms Gash said definition of the Illawarra is great news for the Shoalhaven as we identify closely with the Illawarra with our advanced manufacturing, road, rail, health and education links.

“We are also the second largest economy on the south coast behind Wollongong which ties us together economically. 

“Being part of the Illawarra means our local government area will be at the table when important decisions are being made about the region which affects jobs, growth, planning and development.” 

The Illawarra webpage can be viewed at

Other regional webpages can be viewed at



Media contact: Vanessa Rofe 0419 618 081

Meetings & Agendas

View all agendas and minutes for Council and Committee meetings.
Agendas & Minutes

Newsletter Signup

Signup for our In Your Neighbourhood newsletter and get news direct to your inbox!

© 2020 Shoalhaven City Council
Copyright  |   Privacy  |   Site Map